The Intersection of Self-Care and Moontime

In early March, the women in our ECCU class was prepped to take part in a pipe ceremony as performed by Elder Elma. Inform due to weather concerns this was rescheduled. During this announcement I was excited because I was on my moon-time at that moment and therefore I would have been asked to take time for self-care during this time.

We were rescheduled to take part in a pipe ceremony today, March 21st. Oddly enough, I woke up this morning  and realized that my moon-time had arrived again, for the second time in a month, odd. I was sad to not take part in this pipe ceremony; however, I was guided to use my time as a moment to take part in self-care as this is an important thing for women to do during their moon-time.

While my classmates took part in the pipe ceremony, one of my classmates Shania and I, both on our moon-times, decided to go and try to find ways to take care of ourselves. We spent 25 minutes walking around the University discussing self-care and then we each grabbed our favorite warm beverage and headed back to where we began our journey. During our conversation, it was brought up that there is very little self-care aspects within our University’s walls. We discussed how the construct of University is heavily encompassed by strict deadlines, pressure to succeed and high stress levels. Due to this, Shania and I decided that we would take some times outside of the University this week to engage in self-care.

Understanding Self-Care

When I was first asked to take time for self-care, I immediately thought of how self-care is something that I often set aside in the mix of assignments and classes. I admire the notion that during your moon-time, that a women should take time for self-care and to help her reconnect with the power that she has a life bearer and her strong connection to water. (Keepers of the Water, 2013, pg. 28)


Photo Credit: stevendepolo Flickr via Compfight cc

In considering the idea that my moon-time and ability of bearing life shows signs of great power, I wanted to be respectful and find multiple ways to engage in authentic self-care throughout my moon-time. I have planned to deliberate self-care in the following ways:

  • Physical self-care: This includes ensuring that I eat a healthy breakfast, get enough sleep and take part in physical activity like I do at the gym.
  • Spiritual self-care: This includes ensuring that I find time to listen to music and give thanks to those around me. These are two things that help me build a stronger connection between myself and the world around me.
  • Emotional self-care: Ensuring that I incorporate time during my moon-time to spend quality time with my boyfriend, friends and family as this helps me feel like I have emotional fulfillment in my life.
  • Mental self-care: This includes taking time away from my studies and homework to focus on my mental health. I have intentions to go to the Temple Garden Spa this Friday with my boyfriend as a way to disconnect from the technological world, relax and help myself refocus for the last few weeks of my semester.

So far, this has been my planned engagement with my self-care. I plan to document my self-care in ways that do not disrupt the notion of the care itself. But, for now, I leave you with this.

Until next time,

Jenna deBoth

Categories: ECCU 400 | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Want to add to the conversation?

Blog at WordPress.com.

April Hoffman

In teaching others, we teach ourselves.

Miss Styre's Treaty Walk

Exploring my understanding of myself as a Treaty person

Brooke Robson

As long as the sun shines, rivers flow, and grasses grow.

Ms. D's Learning Lounge

Actively Learning Together.

Right Off The Roll

Where passion, fun and creativity meet.

ESST 310 -020 Winter 2016

Collaboratively Innovating Citizenship

Kendra Leier

Always learning. Learning in all ways.

Barry Crisp | B. L. Crisp

Father and Aspiring Novelist (A New Earth Trilogy)

Jenna deBoth - Blog

Exploring And Thriving In The World Of Education

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

