We Are All Treaty People – Visiting the Royal Sask Museum Exhibit

At the end of January, I had the opportunity to go to the Royal Saskatchewan Museum to take a look at the We Are All Treaty People exhibit. Due to particular circumstances that day, both my parents decided to join me on this journey. I have been to the Royal Sask Museum multiple times in the past four years; therefore I had a strong feeling that this exhibit would be located in the lower floor of the building. Upon arriving at the exhibit, I was slightly shocked to see that it was only a tiny corner of the room. In my mind, I thought that a topic as important as Treaties would be a larger exhibit than the one it was; however, I am aware that I should be thankful that the museum has a place where they could host these articles of the true history of Canada.

As a settler person whom is working towards unsettling, I was astonished to hear that the pictograph, that was created by Chief Pasqua, was originally meant to be taken to parliament as a written account of what Indigenous Peoples were promised in treaties in comparison to what they received; instead it was taken to a home and hung as a decoration for many generations. To me, this speaks to the disrespect shown towards Indigenous Peoples and their way of knowing. I am aware that at the time that many of the numbered treaties were signed, that Indigenous groups did not speak English; however, I feel frustrated by the idea that they were taken advantage of because of their alternative ways of communication and documentation of events; such as the pictograph, shown below.

Nevertheless, I digress. The whole experiences of looking at the pictograph and a copy of the original transcript of Treaty 4 was enlightening. This event contributed to my treaty walk as it gave me a better idea of how the treaties were used as tools of surrender against Indigenous Peoples. I know that as a treaty person, I have a responsibility to continue to talk about how treaties were negotiated, their original intentions from both parties as well as contemporary results due to their implementation.

Until next time,

Jenna deBoth

 

Categories: ECCU 400 | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Want to add to the conversation?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

April Hoffman

In teaching others, we teach ourselves.

Miss Styre's Treaty Walk

Exploring my understanding of myself as a Treaty person

Brooke Robson

As long as the sun shines, rivers flow, and grasses grow.

Ms. D's Learning Lounge

Actively Learning Together.

Right Off The Roll

Where passion, fun and creativity meet.

ESST 310 -020 Winter 2016

Collaboratively Innovating Citizenship

Kendra Leier

Always learning. Learning in all ways.

Barry Crisp | B. L. Crisp

Father and Writer

Jenna deBoth - Blog

Exploring And Thriving In The World Of Education

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

