Starting Your Own Blog: Resources, Tools and How To

small

Right Off The Roll Duct Tape Creations

Blogging is something that has become a prominent part of my life within the past 5 years. When I was in high school, I had a personal blog that I was obsessed with updating. During my later years of school, I reduced the number of posted that I put up and eventually deleted all of the content and shut down the site. When I was in my first year of University, I created a blog website for you Duct Tape business where I put up photos and promotions. This website is currently under construction again as all of my content was deleted in a file transfer, but hopefully it will be up again soon. The website is called rightofftheroll.com. Feel free to check it out.

Back to blogging, I started blogging when I was a young teenager and therefore it was not difficult when I was asked to develop a professional blog in my ESCI 302 class in the Winter 2015 semester. This was an interesting experience for me as I had to think about the difference between a business blog, personal blog and a professional educator blog. I really enjoyed creating this blog and it came in handy when I was asked to have a blog in this fall 2015 semester for my ESST class. In the section below I have created a collection of useful tool and resources as well as how to’s on creating a blog. Enjoy!

  1. Blogbuilder.com provides an excellent run though of how to create your own blog from start to finish. This blog is focused on creating a blog that based on making profit. I used this blog to help me develop my duct tape website; however it includes many great ideas of how to set up your blog and make it professional. Great website!
  2. Buildyourownblog.com is another great website that provides step by step instructions on how to make a successful blog. I like this resource because it is set up with videos and online support after you have created your blog. I recommend this website for anyone who is starting up a blog of their own.
  3. Bloggingbasics101.com is a tool that is focused on developing the content on your blog once you have created it. This is an excellent resource to help you develop your content whether it is for a business purpose, educational purpose or personal expression purpose. Bloggingbasics101.com also has a section about creating your blog.
  4. Becomeablogger.com is a website that provides training and courses to help you develop your blog for whatever purpose you would like.

These are four resources that are out there that can help you start a successful blog. I know that is also a great tool for live tutorials on blog creations. If you or someone you know is interested in starting a blog, I recommend that you use or share the above resources to help get the best head start with blogging!

Until next time, thank you for reading my blog!

 

Categories: ESST 310, Technology | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Want to add to the conversation?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

April Hoffman

In teaching others, we teach ourselves.

Miss Styre's Treaty Walk

Exploring my understanding of myself as a Treaty person

Brooke Robson

As long as the sun shines, rivers flow, and grasses grow.

Ms. D's Learning Lounge

Actively Learning Together.

Right Off The Roll

Where passion, fun and creativity meet.

ESST 310 -020 Winter 2016

Collaboratively Innovating Citizenship

Kendra Leier

Always learning. Learning in all ways.

Barry Crisp | B. L. Crisp

Father and Aspiring Novelist (A New Earth Trilogy)

Jenna deBoth - Blog

Exploring And Thriving In The World Of Education

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

