Evaluating Power and Authority Resources 

We were asked in class to evaluate a number of resources that had to do with Power and Authority. Below you will find a break down of each resource with what it is, good and bad features and if I would use it in the future!

  1. Roles in Ontario Parliament
    1. What: This resource provides lesson plans regarding parliament structures and helps students learn about it.
    2. Good Features: Great information
    3. Bad Features: Made more for high school due to the content level and  structure of the resource
    4. Would I use this?  If I was teaching high school students about the different levels of government I would use this resources. For elementary grades, I would use this resource as a support for my own learning.
  2. Games and Quizzes
    1. What: This resource is activities for students who are learning about the different levels of government
    2. Good Features: Games and Activities to help make learning about the government more engaging and entertaining
    3. Bad Features: Not made for elementary, more made for higher levels such as high middle years or high school
    4. Would I use this? I would use this with older students
  3. Saskatchewan Teacher’s Institute for Legislative Assembly
    1. What: This resource provides you with an opportunity to learn hand on about our parliamentary system so that you can more effectively teach students about our government and increase engagement with involvement in the government (such as voting)
    2. Good Features: Provides teachers with an opportunity to learn hands on about things that they need to teach their students about.  The website provides great information about electing members, voting  and how laws are made.
    3. Bad Features: Must apply for the hands on opportunity. Not all get to go on it.
    4. Would I use this? I think that I do not know very much about the parliamentary system; therefore I think that I would use this resource as one way to better understand information that I need to find a way for my students to also learn and understand.
  4. Municipal Information
    1. What: This resource is based for municipal power and authority. This resource goes over things like community regulations and other laws that are specific to towns and municipal area.
    2. Good Features: Easy to maneuver. Made for educating adults, but could be used with a group of older students. As an educator, you might have to help the students understand the information in the sections as some of the terminology may be too complex.
    3. Bad Features: Unengaging presentation of material.
    4. Would I use this? I would use this resource to help myself, as the teacher understand the concepts more in regards to power and authority.
  5. Grade Two – Integrating First Nations and Metis Perspectives (Social Studies)
    1. What: This resource is a document that is focuses on integrating First Nations and Metis Perspectives into Grade Two Social Studies.
    2. Good Features: Made by a classroom teacher. Easy to read, sectioned off.
    3. Bad Features: Wish their was diagrams to go along with medicine wheel references.
    4. Would I use this? Absolutely!
  6. Grade Six Power and Authority Unit
    1. What: This resource outlines what a grade six power and authority unit plan could look like.
    2. Good Features: Blooms Taxonomy Reference, Lesson plan included
    3. Bad Features: Missing a few elements (Rubric and Misconceptions), additional resources are not available as they are listed to have been saved on a private T-drive.
    4. Would I use this? Yes, but would need to spend time creating worksheets and customizing lesson plans to fit my context.
  7. 1-5 First Nations, Metis & Inuit Perspective Integration in Social Studies
    1. What: This resource provides further resources for different outcomes and indicators in the curriculum.
    2. Good Features: Content is great to help lead your own integration of different worldviews into your classroom.
    3. Bad Features: No Lesson Plans
    4. Would I use this? Yes I would use this resource to help me get an idea of how to integrate First Nations, Metis and Inuit perspectives into my teaching while I was planning.
  8. First Nations, Metis, Inuit Cultural Handbook
    1. What: This resource was created to help non-aboriginal teachers understand different cultural items and ceremonies so that teachers can discuss and present First Nations, Metis and Inuit perspectives in a positive and  non-offensive manner.
    2. Good Features: Terminology explains many things that non-aboriginal people do not understand
    3. Bad Features:
    4. Would I use this? Yes! I loved this resource because it will help me be respectful when it comes to different ceremonies and worldviews. Being culturally sensitive is something that I worry about and I always want to work towards improving in my teaching.
  9. Teacher’s Kit
    1. What: This resource was created in order to help teachers understand different terminology and concepts in regards to politics and government.
    2. Good Features: Presents information for further learning. Gives an idea for preparing lesson plans involving this topic.
    3. Bad Features:
    4. Would I use this? Yes, I find that I could use all the help that I can get in regards to parliamentary systems as I feel that my knowledge and comfort level with the topic is very low.
  10. Treaty Four Worldview
    1. What: This resource provides an insight for non-aboriginal people to help teachers understand the different indigenous world views that exist within Treaty Four.
    2. Good Features: Directly made for Treaty Four area which is the area around Regina and extended from there. This is specific to help teachers understand the different world view that they may encounter in their teachers or the different worldviews that they should present to their class.
    3. Bad Features:
    4. Would I use this? Yes, I really think that it is important to ask questions and learn about other cultures and other worldviews; therefore, I believe that this resource would be very beneficial for me as a future educator.

 

Until next time, thank you for reading my blog!

Categories: Class Topic, ESST 310, My Toolbox | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Want to add to the conversation?

Blog at WordPress.com.

April Hoffman

In teaching others, we teach ourselves.

Miss Styre's Treaty Walk

Exploring my understanding of myself as a Treaty person

Brooke Robson

As long as the sun shines, rivers flow, and grasses grow.

Ms. D's Learning Lounge

Actively Learning Together.

Right Off The Roll

Where passion, fun and creativity meet.

ESST 310 -020 Winter 2016

Collaboratively Innovating Citizenship

Kendra Leier

Always learning. Learning in all ways.

Barry Crisp | B. L. Crisp

Spirativity | Father & Writer

Jenna deBoth - Blog

Exploring And Thriving In The World Of Education

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

