Unboxing Ecoliteracy

Reflecting on the past few weeks of class has shown me that some terms cannot be strictly defined. A great example of this arose from our class conversation with Colin Harris. During this call, Colin was asked if he considered himself an eco-literate person. I appreciated his response, “don’t box in ecoliteracy” because it helped me question the idea of definitions and trying to have a standardized answer to what something means. Looking around at the world around me, definitions and the idea of boxing in people has become a way of our world. I relate boxing in to colonialism and the way that colonizers believed that there was a right and a wrong way of living and those who lived differently were considered as uncivilized. In the world today, we carry the idea of boxes into the way we live, the friends we choose to associate with and the places we choose to go. Now what is the issue with boxes, well if we look at a box factory, all of the boxes are made the same and there is little room for variation. Those boxes that get bent or come out misshaped are tossed aside. This analogy shows that society steadily recreates the same citizens and in turn recreating their ideals, values and beliefs.

FullSizeRender (19)

If we relate boxes back to ecoliteracy, many people can be ecoliterate as the term is so broad. Each person can make their own contribution to making the world a better place. In my eyes, anyone who associates them self as someone who is ecoliterate is someone who makes an impact on their world around them for the better. As humans, we tend to live in disharmony with the earth in this modern day. I view those who make attempts at living harmoniously with the earth as disrupting the impact we have on the environment. This interruption impacts the recreation of humanities destructive boxes. WE NEED more people to disrupt societal’s boxes so we can stop the eradication of our planet.

In class, I was reminded of our conversation with Colin as we watched a short claymation video of the song Little Boxes, originally by Malvina Reynolds. This video reminded me that society is the reason that we harm the earth and disrespect it in our daily lives. To this point in the semester, ESCI 302 has made me rethink the way that I treat the earth and has inspired me to push myself to be better. In my creative journal this week, I reflected on our call with Colin Harris as well as the word Environmentalist. As mentioned in class, I generally associate the term environmentalist with those who take the term to the extreme. This view changed during our Skype call with Colin. From his accomplishments and passions, I view Colin as an environmentalist in the context that he wants children to find their connection to the world around them. As I have mentioned in past posts, I think that this re connection is vital for helping our ill planet because we need to understand and be passionate about the earth in order to save it.  Our excursion to the Royal Saskatchewan Museum reminded me of our connection to the earth. In the basement of the museum, Brooke and I spent a great quantity of time exploring the exhibit based around First Nations way of life before contact/after contact and their harmonious way of life. Like Brooke mentions in her recent blog post, this display evoked a feeling that the way I live steps on the toes of those who lived here before me. In my creative journal I reflected on my thoughts about our visit at the museum and what path I followed. The picture below is the outcome of this process.

FullSizeRender (20)Until next time!

 

Want to add to the conversation?

