My Understanding of Curriculum: ECS 210 Reflective Response No. 1

In my Education Core Studies 210 class, we were asked to look at what curriculum means to use. From my past experiences and schooling I have developed the understanding that curriculum is a framework for instruction that can be taken and embraced by every teacher in their own way. Curriculum is a guideline to help teachers lesson and unit developments. Curriculum is changed and developed to follow along societal ideals of what youth and adolescence should be taught in order to have a basis for success in life.

As a future teacher, I will be actively engaging with curriculum through my daily plans and lessons. This framework is a guide for me so that I can guide the learning of my students. Sometimes the instruction will be direct and material will be transferred from me, the teacher, to the student. Other times children will learn and acquire new knowledge through activities and guided experiences by myself. There may also be times where children are learning both inside and outside of the school. As a teacher, it is my job to take the curricula and create a design for children’s learning. I learnt this week that the different ways children interact with curricula changes based on what works best for that lesson. One concern I have as a future teacher is that I may not know what method or type of interaction with the material is best for that lesson. I feel that this may be something that I will have to experiment and explore during my early teaching; however, I worry about it.

The interactions that I had with curriculum as a child has impacted my view on curriculum today. In elementary school, I was not very aware of curriculum and the impacts that it had on me. When I reached high school I was introduced to the idea of curriculum and outcomes as they became a part of assignments and daily activities in the classroom. Many teachers started to post the intended outcomes at the top of assignments so students would understand what the point of the task was. In many ways this felt weird as a high school student because I was not very focused on what the reasoning behind the assignment was, but more concerned about how quickly and efficiently  could I complete it. Now that I am in university, I value having that experience in high school of exposure to direct curriculum. These experiences help me reflect on the reasoning behind informing students the meaning or goal of that task so it does not seem pointless. In many ways, using curriculum in this overt way helped eliminate the reoccurring question, “Why Are We Doing This?”

As I continue down the path to become an educator, I know that my view of curriculum will grow and change. I look forward to reflecting on my thoughts and understanding of curriculum a year or 15 years from now and how different it is from this current understanding of mine, listed in the above reflection.

Until next time!

Feature Image Credit Goes To creativecommons.org.

 

Categories: ECS 210 | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Want to add to the conversation?

Blog at WordPress.com.

April Hoffman

In teaching others, we teach ourselves.

Miss Styre's Treaty Walk

Exploring my understanding of myself as a Treaty person

Brooke Robson

As long as the sun shines, rivers flow, and grasses grow.

Ms. D's Learning Lounge

Actively Learning Together.

Right Off The Roll

Where passion, fun and creativity meet.

ESST 310 -020 Winter 2016

Collaboratively Innovating Citizenship

Kendra Leier

Always learning. Learning in all ways.

Barry Crisp | B. L. Crisp

Father and Writer

Jenna deBoth - Blog

Exploring And Thriving In The World Of Education

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

